MOWU: Mobile, Wearable & Ubiquitous Computing

MOWU 2019 Program

MOWU 1: Mobile, Wearable & Ubiquitous Computing
Thursday July 18, 8:00 – 9:30
Location: Ballroom D

Session Chair: Hiroyuki Sato, University of Tokyo, Japan

Barrier Detection using Sensor Data from Multiple Modes of Transportation with Data Augmentation
Yuki Kurauchi, Naoto Abe, Hiroshi Konishi and Hitoshi Seshimo

An Energy Efficient Pedestrian Heading Estimation Algorithm using Smartphones
Yankan Yang, Baoqi Huang and Runze Yang

MOWU 2: Mobile, Wearable & Ubiquitous Computing
Thursday July 18, 1:00 – 2:30
Location: AMU 254

Session Chair: Morris Chang, University of South Florida, USA

Towards an Effective and Efficient Machine-Learning-Based Framework for Supporting Event Detection in Complex Environments
Alfredo Cuzzocrea, Enzo Mumolo, Marco Tessarotto and Giorgio Mario Grasso

Towards Predicting Risky Behavior among Veterans with PTSD by Analyzing Gesture Patterns
Tanvir Roushan, Riddhiman Adib, Nadiyah Johnson, Olawunmi George, Md Fitrat Hossain, Zeno Franco, Katinka Hooyer and Sheikh Iqbal Ahamed

Call for Papers

The symposium on Mobile, Wearable, and Ubiquitous Computing (MOWU) is an integral part of the IEEE COMPSAC main conference. Following the theme of the COMPSAC main conference, the MOWU Symposium’s scope covers recent advances in wireless communications and the proliferation of powerful mobile devices that have enabled a wide range of mobile services, everywhere and anytime, supporting the sustainable development of ubiquitous software and infrastructure to enhance digital autonomy. MOWU invites both researchers and practitioners to present their recent results, findings, and achievements in all components of the pervasive ubiquitous environments, including the advancement of software and middleware technologies in various mobile-related sectors, ranging from effective synergic management of wireless communications to adaptivity of system software, from horizontal support to crowdsourcing in different application domains, dynamic offloading to cloud resources, and even augmented reality applications on mobile devices, just to mention a few. The main goal of MOWU is to deepen the understanding of, fostering innovation in, defining and addressing the challenges in mobile communication regarding current and future mobile services, applications and devices for wearable and ubiquitous computing.

MOWU Symposium Chairs

Hong Va Leong, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster, UK

MOWU PC Chairs

Paolo Bellavista, Universita di Bologna, Italy

Angelo Brayner, Universidade Federal do Ceará, Brazil

Program Committee

Mohammad Adibuzzaman, Purdue University, USA
Brayner Angelo, Federal University of Ceara, Brazil
Christian Becker, Universität Mannheim, Germany
Paolo Bellavista, University of Bologna, Italy
Jinnong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Alvin Chan, Singapore Institute of Technology, Singapore
Morris Chang, University of South Florida, USA
Carl Chang, Iowa State University, USA
Chi-Yin Chow, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Arilo Claudio Dias-Neto, Federal University of Amazonas, Brazil
Hans Einsiedler, Deutsche Telekom AG, Germany
Xiaoming Fu, University of Goettingen, Germany
Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster, UK
Dan Grigoras, University College Cork, Ireland
Md Munirul Haque, Purdue University, USA
Sumi Helal, University of Florida, USA
Dijiang Huang, Arizona State University, USA
Axel Küpper, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
Ferdous Kawsar, Medical College of Wisconsin, USA
Rasib Khan, Northern Kentucky University, USA
Hong Va Leong, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Seng Loke, La Trobe University, Australia
Stephane Maag, Institut Telecom SudParis, France
Thomas Magedanz, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany
AKM Majumder, Miami University, USA
Mihhail Matskin, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Jukka Nurminen, Aalto University, Finland
Dana Petcu,
Lei Po-Ruey, ROC Naval Academy, Taiwan
Mohammad Rahman, TnTech, USA
Rodolfo Resende, DCC – UFMG, Brazil
Peter Ruppel, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
Hans Schotten, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Germany
Behrooz Shirazi, Washington State University, USA
Chandana Tamma, Marquette University, USA
Nalini Venkatasubramanian, University of California – Irvine, USA
Xinbing Wang, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Wei Wu, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Seongwook Youn, Korea National University of Transportation, Korea
Arkady Zaslavsky, CSIRO, Australia