ITiP: IT in Practice

ITiP 2019 Program

ITiP 1: IT in Practice
Tuesday July 16, 8:00 – 9:30
Location: AMU 163

Session Chair: Irena Bojanova, NIST, USA

Enhanced Detection of Crisis-related Microblogs by Spatiotemporal Feedback Loops
Christian Meurisch, Zain Hamza, Bekir Bayrak and Max Mühlhäuser

AssistantGraph: An Approach for Reusable and Composable Data-driven Assistant Components
Christian Meurisch, Bekir Bayrak and Max Mühlhäuser

Integrating Static Code Analysis Toolchains
Matthias Kern, Ferhat Erata, Markus Iser, Carsten Sinz, Frederic Loiret, Stefan Otten and Eric Sax

Producing Green Computing Images to Optimize Power Consumption in OLED-based Displays
Sorath Asnani, Maria Giulia Canu and Bartolomeo Montrucchio

ITiP 2: IT in Practice
Tuesday July 16, 1:00 – 2:30
Location: AMU 163

Session Chair: San Murugesan, BRITE Professional Services, Australia

Keynote Address: Simon Y. Liu, Associate Administrator, US Agricultural Research Service
Digital Agriculture: Application, Adoption, and Transformation

ITiP 3: IT in Practice
Wednesday July 17, 8:00 – 9:30
Location: Ballroom B

Session Chair: Piyush Saxena, Direct Supply, USA

LIPs : A Protocol for Leadership Incentives for Heterogeneous and Dynamic Platoons
Brian Ledbetter, Samuel Wehunt, Mohammad Rahman and Mohammad Manshaei

[J1C2] Risk Assessment Methods for Cloud Computing Platforms
Tim Weil

[J1C2] Employer Branding in the IT Industry: An Employer View
Amir Dabirian

[J1C2] Transmuting Information to Knowledge with an Enterprise Knowledge Graph
Jans Aasman

ITiP 4: IT in Practice
Wednesday July 17, 1:00 – 2:30
Location: Ballroom B

Session Chair: Tim Weil, Alcohol Monitoring Systems, USA

A Game-Theoretic Analysis of Pricing Competition between Aggregators in V2G Systems
Md Golam Moula Mehedi Hasan, Mohammad Rahman, Mohammad Manshaei and Walid Saad

Information Exposure (IEX): A New Class in the Bugs Framework (BF)
Irena Bojanova, Yaacov Yesha, Paul Black and Yan Wu

DroidPatrol: A Static Analysis Plugin For Secure Mobile Software Development
Hossain Shahriar, Kai Qian, Md Arabin Islam Talukder, Dan Lo, Mohammad Rahman, Fan Wu and Sheikh Ahamed

Open Source Fog Architecture for Industrial IoT Automation Based on Industrial Protocols
Mohammad Ghazivakili, Claudio Demartini, Mauro Guerrera and Bartolomeo Montrucchio

Call for Papers

COMPSAC 2019 symposium on IT in Practice (ITiP), cosponsored by IT Professional, covers a broad range of emerging innovative IT applications and serves the interests and needs of IT practitioners and researchers as well as application developers and IT managers from business, industry and government. The symposium focuses on diverse elements necessary to successfully architect, design, engineer, configure and field a range of IT applications in several domains and application-oriented research outcomes. It is an interactive forum for sharing and gaining valuable insights and experiences and for active engagement among IT professionals and researchers around the globe.

We solicit submissions on a range of topics related to the symposium theme, including but not limited to:

  • Applications of AI and machine learning
  • Autonomous vehicles
  • Big data analytics and management
  • Blockchain and crypto currencies
  • Cognitive computing
  • Crowd sourcing and collaborative computing
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Cyberrisks and security
  • Data and social media mining
  • Design, deployment and management of large scale IT systems
  • Emerging trends in IT
  • Enterprise IT/IS management
  • Green computing and sustainability
  • Human factors in IT
  • Information assurance and security
  • Innovative IT applications and architectures
  • IT audit and controls
  • IT in business, healthcare, industry, and other sectors
  • IT standards and regulations
  • Network of things
  • Smart systems – smart cities, smart grid, smart buildings, smart logistics
  • Social computing
  • Social impacts of IT

ITiP is supported by IT Professional.

ITiP Symposium Chairs

San Murugesan, BRITE Professional Services, Australia

Fulvio Corno, Politecnico di  Torino, Italy

ITiP Symposium PC Co-Chairs

G.R. Gangadharan, National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli, India

Piyush Saxena, Direct Supply, USA

ITiP General Chair

Irena Bojanova, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA

Program Committee

Saeid Abolfazli, YTL Communications, Malaysia
Toyokazu Akiyama, Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan
Anirban Basu, PQR Software, India
Irena Bojanova, NIST, USA
Chun Cao, Nanjing University, China
Xiangping Chen, Sun Yat-sen University, China
Xing Chen, Fuzhou University, China
Tsung Teng Chen, National Taipei University, Taiwan
Wesley Chou, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, USA
Chi-Yin Chow, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Fulvio Corno, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Luigi De Russis, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Claudio Demartini, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Haluk Demirkan, University of Washington-Tacoma, USA
Charles Despins, École de Technologie Supérieure, Canada
G.R. Gangadharan, National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli, India
Partha Ghosh, BayesTree Intelligence Inc., India
Bin Guo, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China
George Hurlburt, STEM Corp, USA
Rajni Jindal, Delhi Technological University, India
Achilles Kameas, Hellenic Open University, Greece
Tohru Kondo, Hiroshima University, Japan
Nir Kshetri, University of North Carolina-Greensboro, USA
Linda Lai, Macao Polytechnic Institute, Macau
Phillip Laplante, Penn State University, USA
Maria Lee, Shih Chien University, Taiwan
Jyhjong Lin, Ming Chuan University, Taiwan
Lin Liu, Tsinghua University, China
Huai Liu, Victoria University, Australia
Weilong Liu, Shandong University of Finance & Economics, China
Lunjin Lu, Oakland University, USA
Praveen Malla, Hanken School of Economics, Finland
Katina Michael, University of Wollongong, Australia
Hua Ming, Oakland University, USA
Sunil Mithas, University of Maryland, USA
Thenalapadi Mohan, Pragyan Datalabs, India
Supratik Mukhopadhyay, Louisiana State University, USA
San Murugesan, BRITE Professional Services, Australia
Atul Negi, University of Hyderabad, India
Hiroyuki Ohsaki, Kwansei Gakuin University, Japan
Tamer Omar, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, USA
Arpan Pal, TCS Innovation Labs, India
Nearchos Paspallis, University of Central Lancashire, Cyprus
Gwen Salaün, University of Grenoble Alpes, France
Piyush Saxena, Direct Supply, USA
Zonyin Shae, Institute for Information Industry, Taiwan
Balamurugan Shanmugam, Quants Investment Strategy & Consultancy Services, India
Sérgio Soares, Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil
Uma Srinivasan, Capital Markets Cooperative Research Center, Australia
Ram Sriram, NIST, USA
Yuuichi Teranishi, National Institute of Information & Communications Technology, Japan
Bhuvanesh Unhelkar, University of South Florida, USA
Antonio Vetro, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
John Walz, IEEE, USA
Tim Weil, Security Feeds, USA
Linda Wilbanks, US Department of Education, USA
Joseph Williams, Department of Commerce, Washington State, USA
Franz Wotawa, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Takeshi Yagi, Nippon Telegraph & Telephone, Japan
Jianjun Zhao, Kyushu University, Japan