IEEE Computer Society / COMPSAC Awards Banquet
Wednesday July 17
Harley Davidson Museum, Milwaukee WI

Wednesday, July 17 –  Schedule

5:30pm – Shuttle pick-up at Marquette outside front entrance of AMU building (14th & Wisconsin). Please have banquet tickets ready. Last shuttle leaves at 6:15.

6pm onwards – Guests arrive at Harley-Davidson (400 W Canal Street, Milwaukee, WI) via shuttle.

6pm – 7:30pm – Museum is open for after-hours tour. Visit museum at your own leisure.  Then proceed to the reception located in “Chrome“.  Reception is open during this time.

7:30pm – Guests seated & welcome message.

8:15pm – Program and Dinner Service

9:45 – 10pm – End of event & shuttle drop-off to hotels

Shuttle 1. Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Shuttle 2. Hyatt Place Milwaukee

Shuttle 3 DoubleTree and Straz Tower

IEEE Computer Society Awards

The IEEE Computer Society honors luminaries and pioneers in the field of computer science and engineering. Join us at the 2019 IEEE COMPSAC Awards Banquet to celebrate the achievements of outstanding volunteers, scholars, researchers, and innovators.

Technical Achievements Awards are presented for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10, and not more than 15 years.

The Richard E. Merwin Award is given to individuals for outstanding volunteer service to the profession at large, including significant service to the Computer Society. The Merwin Award is the IEEE-CS’s highest level volunteer service award, and consists of a bronze medal and a $5,000 honorarium.

Richard E. Merwin Award

John W. Walz, IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) 2012 President and Senior IEEE Member

for service to the Computer Society with dedication and strong leadership aligned with a visionary strategic plan

IEEE Computer Society Press Release [Feb 12, 2019]

IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award

C.C. Jay Kuo, University of Southern California

for seminal contributions to video coding technologies

IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award

Radu Marculescu, Carnegie Mellon University

for seminal contributions to the science of network on chip design, analysis and optimization

IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award

Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University

for seminal contributions to machine learning and data mining