Plenary Panel Honoring IEEE Computer Society Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award Recipients
Wednesday July 17, 10:00 am
Location: Weasler Auditorium

Panel Chairs: Cecilia Metra, 2019 IEEE Computer Society President
CS Awards Chair Paolo Montuschi, IEEE Computer Society Awards Chair


C. -C. Jay Kuo, University of Southern California; Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Awardee
Dr. C.-C. (Jay) Kuo received his BS degree from the National Taiwan University in 1980 and his MS and PhD degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1985 and 1987, respectively. From October 1987 to December 1988, he was the Computational and Applied Mathematics Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics at the University of California, Los Angeles. Since January 1989, he has been with the University of Southern California (USC). He is presently Director of the Multimedia Communication Lab and Dean’s Professor in Electrical Engineering at USC. His research interests are in the areas of multimedia compression and communication, multimedia content analysis, and computer vision. He has guided 134 students to their PhD degrees and supervised 25 postdoctoral research fellows. He is a co-author of about 240 journal papers, 880 conference papers, 30 patents, and 14 books. He has delivered about 550 invited lectures in conferences, research institutes, universities, and companies. Dr. Kuo was editor in chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security (2012–2014) and the Journal of Visual Communication and Image Representation (1997–2011). He received the Northrop Junior Faculty Research Award from the USC Viterbi School of Engineering in 1994. He was an IEEE Signal Processing Society Distinguished Lecturer in 2006, a recipient of the Okawa Foundation Research Award in 2007, the recipient of the Electronic Imaging Scientist of the Year Award in 2010, the holder of the Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair in Information and Communications Technologies from 2010–2011, a recipient of the Pan Wen-Yuan Outstanding Research Award in 2011, the recipient of the 2014 Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award, and a recipient of the USC Associates Award for Excellence in Teaching. He was President of Asia-Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association (APSIPA) in 2013–2014. Dr. Kuo is a Fellow of AAAS, IEEE, and SPIE.

Radu Marculescu, Carnegie Mellon University; Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Awardee
Radu Marculescu is the Kavčić-Moura Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. He received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Southern California in 1998. Marculescu has received several best paper awards in the area of design automation and embedded systems design.He has been involved in organizing several international symposia, conferences, workshops, as well as guest editor of special issues in archival journals and magazines. Most recently, he was the general co-chair of the 10th edition of Cyber-Physical Systems Week (CPSWEEK). His research focuses on modeling and optimization of embedded systems, cyber-physical systems, social networks, and biological systems. Radu Marculescu is a Fellow of IEEE.

More info is available here:

Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University; Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Awardee
Zhou is currently serving as the head of the Department of Computer Science and Technology, dean of the School of Artificial Intelligence, and deputy director of the National Key Laboratory for Novel Software Technology. He is the founding director of the LAMDA Group. His research interests are in artificial intelligence, machine learning, and data mining, with outstanding contributions to ensemble methods, weakly supervised learning, and multi-label learning. He has authored the books Ensemble Methods: Foundations and Algorithms and Machine Learning (in Chinese) and published more than 200 papers in top-tier journals and conferences. Many of his inventions have been successfully applied in industry. Zhou is a Fellow of IEEE, ACM, AAAI, AAAS, IAPR (International Association of Pattern Recognition),  IET (Institution of Electrical Engineers), CCF (China Computer Federation), and CAAI (China Association of AI). He has received the National Natural Science Award of China, the PAKDD Distinguished Contribution Award, the IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award, the IEEE CIS Outstanding Early Career Award, the Microsoft Professorship Award, and fourteen international paper/competition awards.

IEEE Computer Society Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award

The IEEE Computer Society Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award is given for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10 to 15 years. Contributions must have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. The award consists of a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium, and will be presented at the IEEE Computer Society COMPSAC conference dinner and awards presentation. COMPSAC will be held on Wednesday, 17 July 2019, at the Harley Davidson Museum in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. View more information about the Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award, including a list of past recipients.