SEPT: Security, Privacy & Trust in Computing

As most of our personal and organizational information are being stored and communicated digitally, security, privacy, and trust aspects related to these information and their communications are crucial. The COMPSAC Symposium on Security, Privacy and Trust in Computing (SEPT) is aimed to primarily cover the security, privacy, and trust aspects of software technologies and applications. Following the theme of the COMPSAC main conference, the SEPT Symposium will accept research papers and experience reports on various software application systems where security, privacy, and trust issues have been addressed. The security, privacy, and trust requirements need to be specified, analyzed, implemented, verified, and monitored in most software systems where the quality of service primarily depends on these requirements.

SEPT Symposium Schedule

Tuesday July 24, 11:00 – 12:30pm
Session 1
Location: Meeting 203
Session Chair: Mohammad Zulkernine, Queen’s University, Canada

Invited Talk: Bhavani Thuraisingham, University of Texas at Dallas

Tuesday July 24, 1:30 – 3:00pm
Session 2
Location: Meeting 203
Session Chair: Eun-Sun Cho, Chungnam National University, Korea

Towards Light-weight Deep Learning Based Malware Detection
Zeliang Kan, Haoyu Wang, Guoai Xu, Yao Guo, Xiangqun Chen

ACP: An Efficient User Location Privacy Preserving Protocol for Opportunistic Mobile Social Networks
Rui Huang, Yichao Lin, Bidi Ying, Amiya Nayak

The Impact of Lightweight Disassembler on Malware Detection: An Empirical Study
Donghong Zhang, Zhenyu Zhang, Bo Jiang, T.H. Tse

A Pull-type Security Patch Management of an Intrusion Tolerant System under a Periodic Vulnerability Checking Strategy
Junjun Zheng, Hiroyuki Okamura, Tadashi Dohi

Tuesday July 24, 3:30 – 5:00pm
Session 3
Location: Meeting 203
Session Chair: Dianxiang Xu, Boise State University, USA

Proof of Contribution: A Modification of Proof of Work to Increase Mining Efficiency
Tengfei Xue, Ahmed Zahir, Krishna Moniz, Ganyuan Cao, Cong Wang, Yuyu Yuan

A Novel Secret Sharing Approach for Privacy-preserving Authenticated Disease Risk Queries in Genomic Databases
Maitraye Das, Nusrat Jahan Mozumder, Sharmin Afrose, Khandakar Ashrafi Akbar, Tanzima Hashem

Improving Fitness Function for Language Fuzzing with PCFG Model
Xiaoshan Sun, Yu Fu, Yun Dong, Zhihao Liu, Yang Zhang

Answering Multiple Aggregate Queries Under a Specific Privacy Condition
Jordi Aranda, Javier Herranz, Jordi Nin Guerrero

Paper submission for COMPSAC symposia are now closed.

Deadlines and due dates are available on the Important Dates page.

Paper templates and additional information for authors is available on the Information for Authors page.

SEPT Symposium Co-chairs

Katsuyoshi Iida, Hokkaido University, Japan
Mohammed Zulkernine, Queen’s University, Canada

SEPT Symposium Program Chairs

Dianxiang Xu, Boise State University, USA
Eun-Sun Cho, Chungnam National University, Republic of Korea

SEPT Symposium General Chair

Tadashi Dohi, Hiroshima University, Japan

SEPT Symposium Standing Committee Representative

Elisa Bertino, Purdue University, USA

SEPT Program Committee

Mitsuaki Akiyama, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone (NTT), Japan
Izzat Alsmadi, Texas A&M University San Antonio, USA
Omar El Ariss, Texas A&M University-Commerce, USA
Mark van den Brand, TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Stefano Calzavara, Universita Ca’ Foscari Venezia, Utakt
Chun Cao, Nanjing University, China
Chin-Chen Chang, Feng-Jia University, Taiwan
Atilla Elci, Aksaray University, Turkey
Barbara Gallina, Malardalen University, Sweden
Ragib Hasan, University of Alabama, USA
Chien Hsing Chou, Tamkang Univeristy, Taiwan
Martin Gilje Jaatun, SINTEF Digital, Norway
Yoshiaki Kasahara, Kyushu University, Japan
Dan Lin, Missouri University of Science & Technology, USA
Paul Liu, Shandong University of Finance and Economics, China
Xiaoguang Mao, National University of Defense Technology, China
Joon-Young Paik, Ajou University, Republic of Korea
Jun Pang, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Sherif Saad Ahmed, Windsor University, Canada
Craig Shue, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Natalia Stakhanova, University of New Brunswick, Canada
Po-Chyi Su, National Central University, Taiwan
Kenji Takahashi, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone (NTT), Japan
Komminist Weldemariam, IBM Research – Africa & Queen’s University, Canada
Franz Wotawa, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Takeshi Yagi, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone (NTT), Japan
Hongji Yang, Bath Spa University, UK
Meng Yu, The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Frank Xu, Bowie State University, USA