NCIW: Networks, Communications, Internet & Web Technologies

The Internet has revolutionized and changed the way we communicate, socialize, entertain, access information and conduct business. It has evolved into a pervasive ecosystem of connected computers, mobile gadgets, sensors, home appliances, and a variety of other devices. This evolution has led to a deep intertwining of the physical, social, and digital worlds, raising new research agendas and challenging our understanding of the requirements for a vastly interconnected world. NCIW symposium provides a forum to share the latest innovations on Internet technologies and applications. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • network protocol and architectures
  • network management/operations, data communications, network information architecture, performance/QoS management, network function virtualization
  • wireless, mobile, ad-hoc and sensor networks and applications
  • Internet of Things (IoT) and machine-to-machine (M2M) communications
  • network simulation, measurement, administration and management
  • emerging network technologies such as software defined network (SDN)
  • next generation networking
  • peer-to-peer (P2P), overlay, cloud and content distribution networks (CDN)
  • digital media and web technologies


NCIW Symposium Schedule

Thursday July 26, 11:00 – 12:30pm
Session 1
Location: Meeting 103
Session Chair: Motonori Nakamura, National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Winner Determination in Combinatorial Double Auctions based on Differential Evolution Algorithms
Fu-Shiung Hsieh, Yi-Hong Guo

A Low-cost, High-efficiency SDN Framework to Diminish Redundant ARP and IGMP Traffics in Large-scale LANs
You-Chiun Wang, Han Hu

A Flow-grained End-to-End Delay Analysis for RC Traffic in TTEthernet
Ling Guo, Xi Li, Bo Wan, Changlong Li, Kaiqi Zhou

Thursday July 26, 1:30 – 3:00pm
Session 2
Location: Meeting 103
Session Chair: Satoshi Ohzahata, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan

An Efficient Retrograde Storage for Self-destructing Messages on Frequently Colliding Hash Table
Yan Zhu, Shuai Yang, Guohua Gan, Xiao He

A Solution for Minimum Link Flow Problem with Sparse Modeling
Ryotaro Matsuo, Ryo Nakamura, Hiroyuki Ohsaki

DTN-Knca: A High Throughput Routing Based on Contact Pattern Detection in DTNs
Weitao Wang, Yuebin Bai, Peng Feng, Yuhao Gu, Shuai Liu, Wenhao Jiang, Jun Huang

A Multihop Broadcast Mechanism for Emergency Messages Dissemination in VANETs
Sizheng Li, Chuanhe Huang

Paper submission for COMPSAC symposia are now closed.

Deadlines and due dates are available on the Important Dates page.

Paper templates and additional information for authors is available on the Information for Authors page.

NCIW Symposium Co-chairs

Nariyoshi Tamai, Tokyo University of Agriculture & Technology, Japan
Behrooz A. Shirazi, Washington State University, USA


NCIW Program Committee

Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Fordham University, USA
Barbara Carminati, University of Insubria, Italy
Shuo-Yan Chou, National Taiwan University of Science & Technology, Taiwan
Alfredo Cuzzocrea, University of Trieste, Italy
Gokhan Dalkilic, Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey
Schahram Dustdar, TU Wien, Austria
Hossein Fotouhi, Malardalen University, Sweden
Kensuke Fukuda, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
Thoshitha Gamage, Southern Illinois University, USA
Katsuyoshi Iida, Hokkaido University, Japan
Takeshi Ikenaga, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Norihiro Ishikawa, Komazawa University, Japan
Yong Jin, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Sinchai Kamolphiwong, Prince of Songkla University, Thailand
Mei Kobayashi, NTT Communications, Japan
Kaori Maeda, Hiroshima City University, Japan
Yutaka Nakamura, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Satoshi Ohzahata, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Serap Sahin, Izmir Institute of Technology, Turkey
Yusuke Sakumoto, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Behrooz Shirazi, Washington State University, USA
Masato Tsuru, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Tugkan Tuglular, Izmir Institute of Technology, Turkey
Malathi Veeraraghavan, University of Virginia, USA
Vasaka Visoottiviseth, Mahidol University, Thailand
Nariyoshi Yamai, Tokyo University of Agriculture & Technology, Japan
Hiroshi Yamamoto, Ritsumeikan University, Japan