The 5th IEEE International Workshop on Software Engineering for Smart Systems (SESS 2021)

Call for Papers

The aim of this workshop is to provide a forum for researchers, practitioners and developers to share their experiences and discuss the latest advances and innovations in software engineering with application to the development of smart systems.

Smart systems are those that are able to sense their environment context and adapt their behavior as the context changes in order to provide appropriate services to the user anytime anywhere. The Internet of Things (IoT) is an enabling technology for smart systems as it makes it possible to turn any object into a smart thing, able to sense its current situation, adapt to new situation and communicate with other smart things. There are a growing number of applications emerging from the IoT technology to include cyber-physical systems, smart homes, smart healthcare, intelligent transportation, and smart cities. Software will form a critical part of these systems to provide reliable and efficient smart services. However, developing software for smart systems is challenging due to a number of reasons: they are highly distributed; large scale; network nodes are heterogeneous; involve resource constrained mobile devices; and requirements are not fixed but change frequently. Thus, traditional methods for requirement engineering, system design, testing and verification are no longer adequate. New approaches are required to cater for changing system requirements, context–awareness, mobility and smart adaptation to changing context.

The workshop topics include but are not limited to the following:

  • Requirement engineering for smart systems
  • Model-driven engineering for smart systems
  • Testing of smart systems
  • Formal specification and verification of smart systems
  • Cloud computing
  • Internet of Things
  • Context-aware and adaptive systems
  • Mobile computing
  • Pervasive/Ubiquitous computing
  • Intrusion detection systems
  • Security and privacy of smart systems
  • Cyber physical systems
  • Real-time control systems and robotics
  • E-learning and smart educational systems

Important Dates

Workshop papers due: 21 April 1 May 2021 (UPDATED)

Workshop paper notifications: 15 May 2021

Camera-ready and registration due: 31 May 2021

Authors are invited to submit original, unpublished research work, as well as industrial practice reports. Simultaneous submission to other publication venues is not permitted.  In accordance with IEEE policy, submitted manuscripts will be checked for plagiarism. Instances of alleged misconduct will be handled according to the IEEE Publication Services and Product Board Operations Manual.

Please note that in order to ensure the fairness of the review process, COMPSAC follows the double-blind review procedure. Therefore we kindly ask authors to remove their names, affiliations and contacts from the header of their papers in the review version. Please also redact all references to authors’ names, affiliations or prior works from the paper when submitting papers for review. Once accepted, authors can then include their names, affiliations and contacts in the camera-ready revision of the paper, and put the references to their prior works back.


Workshop papers are limited to 6 pages. Page limits are inclusive of tables, figures, appendices, and references. Workshop papers can add an additional 2 pages with additional page charges ($250USD/page).

Paper Templates

IEEE Paper templates are available in MS Word 2003 and LaTex. All submissions must use US 8.5×11 letter page format.

Note: If the submission link does not appear on EasyChair after logging-in, please click the above button again.

Workshop Organizers

Francois Siewe, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK

Sofia Meacham, Bournemouth University, Bournemouth, UK

Shikun Zhou, University of Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK

Vasileios Germanos, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK

Program Committee

Thai Son Hoang, University of Southampton, UK

Sofia Meacham, University of Bournemouth, UK

Kirill Bogdanov, University of Sheffield, UK

Arosha Bandara, The Open University, UK

Ali Jwaid, De Montfort University, UK

David Smallwood, De Montfort University, UK

Waltenegus Dargie, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany

Shikun Zhou, University of Portsmouth, UK

Francisco Aparicio-Navarro, De Montfort University, UK

Phan Cong Vinh, Nguyen Tat Thanh University, Vietnam

Stefan Kuhn, De Montfort University, UK

Esther Palomar, Birmingham City University, UK

Zhu Huibiao, East China University, China

Antonio Cau, De Montfort University, UK

Timothy A. Chadza, Loughborough University, UK

Emanuele Lido Secco, Liverpool Hope University, UK

Wen Zeng, De Montfort University, UK

Anuradha D. Mudiyanselage, Liverpool Hope University, UK

Qiyi Tang, Imperial College London, UK

Leandros Maglaras, De Montfort University, UK

Dimitris Kosmanos, University of Thessaly, Greece

Fudong Li, University of Portsmouth, UK