COMPSAC 2021 President’s Panel

The IEEE Computer Society depends for its success on a rich volunteer/staff partnership. Our panel of current, past, and emeritus CS Presidents will describe how and why they became involved with the CS, their experience as CS volunteers, and how that contributed to their career and the profession.

Steve Diamond is Managing Director of Picosoft, specializing in high-tech industry standards strategy. Before that he was Senior Director of Industry Standards at VMware and Global Standards Officer and General Manager of the Industry Standards Office at EMC. Steve is Chair of the IEEE Future Directions Committee, was the 2003 IEEE CS President, and served two terms on the IEEE Board of Directors. He was awarded the IEEE CS Richard E. Merwin medal and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal.

Leila De Floriani is a professor at the University of Maryland at College Park. She has been the 2020 IEEE Computer Society President. She is an IEEE Fellow, an IAPR and a Eurographics Fellow, an IEEE CS Golden Core member, a member of the IEEE-HKN Honor Society and of the IEEE Visualization Academy.

Jean-Luc Gaudiot is currently a Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at the University of California, Irvine. His research interests include multithreaded architectures, fault-tolerant multiprocessors, and implementation of reconfigurable architectures. He was the 2017 IEEE Computer Society President and is an IEEE and a AAAS Fellow.

Dr. Hironori Kasahara worked as IEEE Computer Society President 2018. He is currently Senior Executive Vice President and Professor at Dept. CS, Waseda University in Tokyo, IEEE Fellow, Professional Member of IEEE HKN, IPSJ Fellow, Director of Engineering Academy of Japan, Member of the Science Council of Japan.

Cecilia Metra is a full Professor and the Deputy President of the School of Engineering at the University of Bologna, Italy, where she has worked since 1991, and from which she received a PhD in electronic engineering and computer science. In 2002, she was visiting faculty consultant for Intel Corporation. She was the 2019 President of the IEEE Computer Society (CS), and she is 2021 IEEE Director-Elect/Division V Delegate-Elect (2022 and 2023 IEEE Director/Division V Delegate). She is an IEEE Fellow, IEEE CS Golden Core Member, and a member of the IEEE Honor Society IEEE-HKN.

Dr. Forrest Shull is Lead for Defense Software Acquisition Policy Research at Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute. He has been lead researcher on projects for the U.S. DoD, NASA, the National Science Foundation, and commercial companies. He is the 2021 President of the IEEE Computer Society.