Panel Discussion: Career Pointers from Computer Society Leadership

Mr. Fujii will moderate a panel of past IEEE Computer Society Presidents who will talk about the important lessons learned in their careers that will aid students and young professionals in advancing their careers.

Roger Fujii is IEEE Vice President for Technical Activities and was the 2016 IEEE Computer Society President.  Was Vice President/Division GM of Northrop Grumman (ret) delivering F22/F35/Battlefield communications systems.

He is an IEEE Fellow with degrees from University of California, Berkeley and MBA certificates from UCLA, Harvard, and Darden.

Dejan Milojicic (2014 Computer Society President) – Distinguished Technologist, Hewlett Packard Labs, Milpitas, CA: His topic will be on “How to prepare oneself to be on the leading edge of identifying and creating new technologies”

Dejan is a distinguished technologist at Hewlett Packard Labs  [1998-]. He received his PhD from the University of Kaiserslautern (1993); and MSc/BSc from Belgrade University (1983/86). Dejan has over 200 papers, 2 books and 61 patents. Dejan is an IEEE Fellow (2010) and ACM Distinguished Engineer (2008).

Tom Conte (2015 Computer Society President) – Professor of CS and ECE, Director, Center for Research into Novel Computing Hierarchies (CRNCH), Georgia Tech University, Atlanta, GA:  His topic will be on “How to create an effective IEEE Technical Community (IEEE Rebooting Computing – Supercomputing) to address emerging technologies in high performance computing”

Tom  (F-IEEE) is a researcher in the field of computer architecture.  He received his MS/PhD from the University of Illinois and BS from University of Delaware. Served as Chief Microarchitect/Mgr of a Startup (BOPS) – Back-End Compiler Development for DSP.  Currently is IEEE Division V Director.

Jean-Luc Gaudiot is currently Distinguished Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at the University of California, Irvine. His research interests include multithreaded architectures, fault-tolerant multiprocessors, and implementation of reconfigurable architectures. He was the 2017 IEEE Computer Society President and is an IEEE and a AAAS Fellow.

Dr. Hironori Kasahara (2018 Computer Society President) – Senior Executive Vice President, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan: His topic will be on “How students and young professionals can become active leaders in IEEE”

Hironori Kasahara worked as IEEE Computer Society President 2018. He is currently Senior Executive Vice President and Professor at Dept. CS, Waseda University in Tokyo, IEEE Fellow, Professional Member of IEEE HKN, IPSJ Fellow, Director of Engineering Academy of Japan, Member of the Science Council of Japan.